Paulano Gets Cool E-Bike just in time for Earth Day

Bikes equipped with an electric motor are green alternatives to cars

Bikes equipped with an electric motor are green alternatives to cars

If you don’t know already, tomorrow will be the 40th annual Earth Day.   Hoo-ahh!

Easy to Install, Fun to Ride

Easy to Install, Fun to Ride

Earth Day is a good time for us each to do a quick self evaluation, to see what changes we can each make to be a little greener.

Not quite yet a candidate for eco-Martyrdom, but not a total eco-jerk either, Paulano has been seen riding around Livermore lately on his new electric bike.   By cutting down on car trips and using the electric bike instead, I’m making headway towards being leaner and greener.  A little bit anyway.

Zap your Bike into a new Eco-friendly Commuter Vehicle

Zap your Bike into a new Eco-friendly Commuter Vehicle

Originally, Paulano was supposed to build an electric cupcake car for his daughter, Parker.  (Don’t ask)  The e-bike idea was conceived as an intermediate step once Paulano realized that he didn’t know much about batteries, or electric motors either.

The plan was to cut my teeth on the electric bike, and then move up to the cupcake car.

Ultimately, my e-bike quest ended with the successful installation of an Ampedbikes.com kit on a 2009 Electra Townie Original 1 Women’s Frame.   With no pedaling at all, I can maintain 20 mph, and get 13.5 miles per charge… more than enough to get me around town.   If I make the effort to pedal, I go a little faster, and I can easily double my range per charge.

My daughter rides the Electric Bike all the time too.  After all, the bike was supposed to be for her.  Remember?  At 90 pounds, she gets well over 20 miles for each battery charge with no pedaling.

By the way, the re-charge time on my 36V 10 AH Sealed Lead Acid (SLA) battery takes 4 1/2 hours.

And that whole cupcake car idea???   … virtually forgotten… Thank God.

Cupcake Pillbox? Yes.  Cupcake Car?  Not so much...

Cupcake Pillbox? Yes. Cupcake Car? Not so much...

As long as I am discussing E-Bikes, I should mention that I highly recommend the product, price and service I got from Ampedbikes.com. I also can not say enough good things about the entire product line of retro-sleek Electra bikes.  Check them out. And in case you are wondering, those are both unpaid, unsolicited Paulano endorsments.

All things considered, I wish now that I had gone with the Townie Original 7, Men’s Frame.   The seven speeds would lend added versatility, and the Mens’ frame would give added strength.  Live and learn.  But still, the Women’s Townie One frame fits my

Riding a bike to work is good for business

Riding a bike to work is good for business

daughter better, so it was a great choice too.   Ultimately, it is entirely likely that this e-bike will elimate or at least delay the need for another car in the family.

Happy Earth Day.

Many of the images in this blog post can be purchased at Kyle Designs. Kyle has gift items for the eco-friendly person in your life.   She offers over 300 original, unusual designs, in dozens of colors on Hundreds of Items that you use every day, from wall switch plates to business card holders.   She offers engraving and Monogramming too.

Leave a Reply

